War Child Canada get loud
Skip Navigation  Sign In  |  Français



Home > Get Plugged In > The Countries > Uganda
UGANDA
Uganda
Capital: Kampala

Leader: President Yoweri Museveni

Population: 27.6 million

Language: English is the official language. Other languages include Swahili, Ganda, and various Bantu languages

Religion: Roman Catholic 33%, Protestant 33%, indigenous beliefs 18%, Muslim 16%

Economy: GNI per capita: USD $270
Main Exports: Coffee, fish, tea, tobacco, cotton, corn, beans, sesame
Monetary Unit: Ugandan Shilling

Literacy: 69%
Net primary school enrolment: 79%
Net primary school enrolment of girls: 79%

Health: Life Expectancy: 46 years (men), 47 years (women)
Infant mortality rate: 80/1000 live births
HIV Prevalence: 4.1%

Income Distribution: 55% of the population lives below the poverty line. The richest 20% earn 45% of the national income.

Culture: Uganda’s diverse population includes the following ethnic groups: Baganda 17%, Ankole 8%, Basoga 8%, Iteso 8%, Bakiga 7%, Langi 6%, Rwanda 6%, Bagisu 5%, Acholi 4%, Lugbara 4%, Batoro 3%, Bunyoro 3%, Alur 2%, Bagwere 2%, Bakonjo 2%, Jopodhola 2%, Karamojong 2%, Rundi 2%.

Environment: Problems include the draining of wetlands for agricultural use, deforestation, overgrazing and soil erosion.

Politics: The National Resistance Movement has been in power since 1986. In 2004, the Constitutional Court restored multiparty politics and eliminated restrictions on the organization of political parties. At the same time, the court removed a two-term restriction on the presidency, allowing President Museveni to seek a third term in office. In the north of the country, two decades of conflict between government forces and the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) have produced a humanitarian crisis marked by massive displacement and human rights abuses.

Current Political Climate: Elections scheduled for February 2006 were overshadowed by the arrest of President Museveni’s main rival, Kizza Besigye, for treason, rape and terrorism. Although Besigye was released on bail and is still expected to contest the elections, the army’s involvement in his arrest led to criticisms of the government’s commitment to democratic freedom. Meanwhile, the conflict in the north has been described by the UN as the world’s most neglected humanitarian crisis.

Position of Women: The government has introduced affirmative action policies in favour of women and has constitutionally enshrined women’s rights. Uganda is also the first African country to have a female vice president. Yet economic dependency on males and persisting structural disadvantages prevent women from achieving true gender parity. Ugandan law does not address the widespread problems of sexual harassment and domestic violence, and even female parliamentarians have complained of sexual harassment by their male colleagues. In the north of the country, conflict has left women increasingly vulnerable to violence, displacement, and HIV/AIDS infection.

Children in Uganda: Uganda has ratified the Convention on the Rights of the Child and the government has introduced a policy providing free education to four children per family. Problems persist, however, as nearly one million children have been orphaned due to HIV/AIDS and children continue to bear the brunt of the conflict in the north. The LRA has abducted more than 25,000 children since 1986, and in the affected regions around 40,000 unaccompanied children, or ‘night commuters,’ walk each night from their homes in the villages to urban centres, in search of protection from the threat of abduction and attack.

Freedom: Although the constitution guarantees freedom of expression, harassment of journalists has led to some self-censorship. Nevertheless, independent print media outlets are often highly critical of the government and offer a range of opposition views.


CULTURAL SNAPSHOT

FEMRITE
FEMRITE is an association of Ugandan women writers that aims to be a channel for the development of women’s literature, to work for the promotion of female authors, and to use literature generated from communities as a basis for literacy programs. In January 2006, a 25-year-old member of FEMRITE named Glaydah Namukasa won the third Macmillan Writers' Prize for Africa. Her story, “Voices of a Dream” describes the life of a teenage girl whose family is coping with the effects of HIV/AIDS.


LEARN MORE

UNICEF 
www.unicef.org/infobycountry/uganda_background.html

BBC 
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/country_profiles/1069166.stm

Freedom House 
www.freedomhouse.org/template.cfm?page=22&country=6854&year=2005&view=mof

IRIN 
www.irinnews.org/report.asp?ReportID=31438

FEMRITE 
www.wworld.org/about/affiliates/femrite.htm
Nakliye , Nakliyeci ,Nakliyat ,Gebze Nakliye ,Film izle

War Child Canada plus fort
Saut des liens de navigation  Ouvre la session  |  English



Accueil > Branche-toi > Les pays > Ouganda
OUGANDA
Ouganda
Capitale : Kampala

Chef d’État : Président Yoweri Museveni

Population : 27,6 millions

Langues : L’anglais est la langue officielle. D’autres langues comprennent le swahili, le ganda et diverses langues bantoues.

Religions : Catholique romaine 33 %, protestante 33 %, croyances indigènes 18 %, musulmane 16 %.

Économie : INB per capita : 270 $ US
Principales exportations : Café, poisson, thé, tabac, coton, maïs, légumineuses, sésame.
Unité monétaire : Le shilling ougandais

Taux d’alphabétisation : 69 %
Pourcentage net de la scolarisation primaire : 79%
Pourcentage net de la scolarisation primaire chez les filles : 79 %

Santé : Espérance de vie : 46 ans (hommes), 47 ans (femmes)
Taux de mortalité infantile : 80 pour 1,000 naissances vivantes
Prévalence du VIH : 4,1 %

Répartition des revenus : 55 % de la population vit sous le seuil de la pauvreté. Les riches représentent 20 % de la population et touchent 45 % des revenus nationaux.

Culture : La population de l’Ouganda est composée des groupes ethniques suivants : Baganda 17 %, Ankole 8 %, Basoga 8 %, Iteso 8 %, Bakiga 7 %, Langi 6 %, Rwanda 6 %, Bagisu 5 %, Acholi 4 %, Lugbara 4 %, Batoro 3 %, Bunyoro 3 %, Alur 2 %, Bagwere 2 %, Bakonjo 2 %, Jopodhola 2 %, Karamojong 2 %, Rundi 2 %.

Environnement : Les problèmes environnementaux sont le drainage des sols marécageux à des fins agricoles, la déforestation, le surpâturage et l’érosion des sols.

Politique : Le Mouvement de résistance national (National Resistance Movement) est au pouvoir depuis 1986. En 2004, la Cour constitutionnelle a rétabli les politiques multipartites et levé les restrictions sur l’organisation des partis politiques. Au même moment, la cour a éliminé une restriction limitant à deux mandats l’occupation de la présidence, permettant au Président Museveni de rechercher un troisième mandat. Dans le nord du pays, deux décennies de conflit entre les forces du gouvernement et l’Armée de résistance du Seigneur ont provoqué une crise humanitaire marquée par des déplacements massifs et des abus des droits de la personne.

Climat politique actuel : Les élections prévues en février 2006 ont été éclipsées par l’arrestation du principal rival du Président Museveni, Kizza Besigye, pour trahison, viol et terrorisme. Malgré la libération sous cautionnement de Besigye et le fait qu’on s’attend à ce qu’il conteste les résultats des élections, la participation de l’armée à son arrestation a soulevé des critiques à l’endroit de l’engagement du gouvernement envers la liberté démocratique. Entre-temps, le conflit dans le nord a été décrit par les Nations Unies comme la crise humanitaire la plus négligée dans le monde.

Situation de la femme : Le gouvernement a introduit des politiques d’action positive favorables aux femmes et a enchâssé les droits de la femme dans la constitution. L’Ouganda est également le premier pays africain à nommer une femme au poste de vice-présidente. Pourtant, leur dépendance économique aux hommes et les désavantages structurels persistants empêchent les femmes d’accéder à une réelle égalité des sexes. La loi en Ouganda ne tient pas compte des graves problèmes de harcèlement sexuel et de violence familiale et même les femmes siégeant au parlement se sont plaintes de harcèlement sexuel de la part de leurs collègues masculins. Dans le nord du pays, le conflit a laissé les femmes de plus en plus vulnérables à la violence et à l’infection au VIH/ sida.

Situation des enfants : L’Ouganda a ratifié une convention sur les droits de l’enfance et le gouvernement a introduit une politique permettant l’accès gratuit à l’éducation pour quatre enfants par famille. Toutefois, les problèmes persistent puisque près d’un million d’enfants sont orphelins en raison du VIH et du sida et qu’ils continuent de souffrir le plus du conflit dans le nord. L’Armée de résistance du Seigneur a enlevé plus de 25 000 enfants depuis 1986 et, dans les régions affectées, près de 40 000 enfants non accompagnés ou « enfants de la nuit » quittent leur village chaque soir pour se rendre à pied à des centres urbains à la recherche de protection contre la menace d’enlèvement et d’attaque.

Liberté : Même si la constitution garantit la liberté d’expression, le harcèlement des journalistes les a amenés à s’autocensurer. Néanmoins, la presse indépendante est souvent très critique du gouvernement et offre une gamme de points de vue de l’opposition.


APERÇU CULTUREL

FEMRITE
FEMRITE est une association d’écrivaines ougandaises qui vise à développer un réseau de littérature féminine, à travailler à la promotion des auteures et à utiliser la littérature provenant des communautés dans les programmes d’alphabétisation. En janvier 2006, Glaydah Namukasa, une des membres de FEMRITE âgée de 25 ans, a gagné le troisième Macmillan Writers’ Prize pour l’Afrique. Son histoire, « Voices of a Dream », décrit la vie d’une adolescente dont la famille est aux prises avec les effets du VIH et du sida.


POUR EN SAVOIR DAVANTAGE

Profil de l’Ouganda 
http://www.tlfq.ulaval.ca/axl/afrique/ouganda.htm

UNICEF (en anglais)
www.unicef.org/infobycountry/uganda_background.html

BBC (en anglais) 
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/country_profiles/1069166.stm

Freedom House (en anglais)
www.freedomhouse.org/template.cfm?page=22&country=6854&year=2005&view=mof

IRIN (en anglais) 
www.irinnews.org/report.asp?ReportID=31438

FEMRITE (en anglais) 
www.wworld.org/about/affiliates/femrite.htm
Nakliye , Nakliyeci ,Nakliyat ,Gebze Nakliye ,Film izle